On March 17, 2015 DW3 celebrated the release of their sophomore album, Vintage Truth on the Woodward Avenue Records label. The project, with its twelve tracks, serves as a tribute to the late Ricky Lawson who produced and recorded on four of the tracks from the album.

The DW3 frontmen, Billy Mondragon, Eric Mondragon and Damon Reel, are joined by Dave Koz, Brian Culbertson, Greg Adams, Paul Brown, Elan Trotman, and Ricky Lawson. Their rhythm section and horns include the talents of Charles Streeter, Steve Carias,  Rick Marcel, Carnell Harell, Tracy Carter, Darryl Williams and more.

Vintage Soul is a collection of DW3’s most popular songs selected over their many years of performances. “I Can’t Tell You Why”, the popular song by The Eagles was produced by guitarist Paul Brown. Stevie Wonder’s “Overjoyed”, Luther Vandross’s “So Amazing” and The Mamas & The Papas “California Dreamin'” can also be heard on the project.

The dynamic energy and signature harmonies listeners have come to expect of the trio certainly carries over into their most recent project. From the spirited “Let the Music” to the laid-back and soulful “I Can’t Tell You Why”, fans certainly get to take the essence of these popular SoCal based performers home with them.

In 2011, DW3 made their debut at #16 on the US Billboard charts with “On the Floor”. In 2014 they were Grammy nominated for their background vocals on the Dave Koz Summer Horns album and they have been the resident party band for The Smooth Jazz Cruise since 2004.

Our Favorite Track: She Keeps Runnin’

Get Vintage Truth on Amazon

Title: Vintage Truth
Artist: DW3
Date: March 17, 2015
Genre: Smooth Jazz, R&B
Label: Woodward Avenue Records


01 Let the Music feat. Brian Culbertson
02 Tribute (Right On)
03 I Can’t Tell You Why
04 Hold Me feat. Greg Adams
05 Dance with Me
06 Overjoyed
07 California Dreamin’
08 When You Cry feat. Dave Koz
09 She Keeps Runnin’
10 Square Onw
11 So Amazing
12 At the Club feat. Elan Trotman

Get Vintage Truth on Amazon

[template id=”182″]

Published by Shannon Kennedy

Shannon Kennedy is a vocalist and saxophonist living in Southern California. She is author of "The Album Checklist" and the founder of Teen Jazz. She has been contributing articles to music magaizines and websites since 2004.