This is a guest post by Dana Brenklin. See our guest poster’s profile below.

I’ve waited anxiously since the release of the first single of the Dave Koz & Friends Summer Horns album and the classic album is finally here and this is what I have say about it.

Get Dave Koz and Friends Summer Horns on AmazonGet Dave Koz and Friends Summer Horns on Amazon From start to finish this album keeps you satisfied. The first single “Got To Get You Into My Life”, previously made famous by the legendary group Earth, Wind & Fire is not the only jewel on the album. Summer Horns is a masterpiece, reminiscent of recordings such as the timeless “Flamenco Sketches” with Miles Davis and John Coltrane.

You can’t listen to just one track and you are bound to put this work of art on repeat. A project of superstars, everyone in their own right, from legends to new. Dave, Mindi, Gerald and Elliot all hold their own. Each artist brings their A game, funkiness and raw talent. Stevie Wonder’s “You Haven’t Done Nothin'” is another highlight and Herb Alpert’s “Rise” is a sweet delight. It might be titled Summer Horns, but this is an all occasion and all year long, soon to be classic.


Dave Koz and Friends’ Summer Horns album released on Concord Jazz (June 2013) features the talents of saxophonists Mindi Abair, Richard Elliot, Gerald Albright and Dave Koz. It also showcases several special guests including Michael McDonald, Brian Culbertson, Rick Braun, Jonathan Butler and Jeffrey Osborne.

But it isn’t just the talents of the four main artists and its guests that make this a landmark album. The album was produced by guitarist Paul Brown while Greg Adams (Tower of Power), Tom Scott (Steely Dan) and Gordon Goodwin (Big Phat Band), all excellent arrangers and composers, contributed the horn arrangements to the Summer Horns project. As stated by Dave Koz, “We were very lucky to have horn arrangers on this project who wrote charts for a lot of those landmark records that I remember.”

Get Dave Koz and Friends: Summer Horns on Amazon

Title: Summer Horns
Artist: Dave Koz and Friends (feat. Mindi Abair, Gerald Albright and Richard Elliot)
Date: June 11, 2013
Genre: Jazz, Blues
Label: Concord Jazz


01 Always There
02 Got To Get You Into My Life
03 Rise
04 So Very Hard To Go (feat. Michael McDonald)
05 Hot Fun In The Summertime (feat. Brian Culbertson)
06 Take Five
07 25 Or 6 To 4
08 Reasons
09 I Got You (I Feel Good)
10 You Haven’t Done Nothin’ (feat. Rick Braun and Jonathan Butler)
11 God Bless The Child (feat. Jeffrey Osborne)
BONUS TRACK Summer Horns

Get Dave Koz and Friends: Summer Horns on Amazon


[social_icon title=”Dana Brenklin” url=”” float=”left” profile_type=”rss” window=”yes”] [social_icon title=”Dana Brenklin on Twitter” url=”” float=”left” profile_type=”twitter” window=”yes”] [social_icon title=”Dana Brenklin on Facebook” url=”” float=”left” profile_type=”facebook” window=”yes”]

The official voice of “The Dana Brenklin Radio Show”. Dana Brenklin is a fiery, rich, bluesy and as she has been told, “stone, stand up singer”. R&B/Soul is her chosen genre, but this singer can and has sang, pop, rock, country and gospel delivering to the crowds amazement and pleasure every time. Dana is an actress, lyricist, poet, recording engineer and two time editor’s choice award winner. Dana has just added another title to her long list of talents as she can now be heard on her weekly radio show at KCLA via the web and she is available for touring and recording sessions. You can also find Dana at Stevie Wonder’s KJLH helping out “Front Page” host Dominique DiPrima.

[template id=”182″]

Published by Shannon Kennedy

Shannon Kennedy is a vocalist and saxophonist living in Southern California. She is author of "The Album Checklist" and the founder of Teen Jazz. She has been contributing articles to music magaizines and websites since 2004.