Two-time Grammy nominee Jonathan Butler is celebrating the opportunity he has to live his dream with his latest release. On June 24, 2014, the guitarist and singer-songwriter released “Living My Dream” through Artistry Music.

The album opens with “African Breeze,” an uptempo re-imagining of the tune originally written for the film The Jewel of the Nile starring Kathleen Turner, Danny Devito, and Michael Douglas. Following “Africain Breeze” is the title track “Living My Dream,” a laid-back, RnB/Soul influenced cut highlighted by horns from Katisse Buckingham and Brigg Sterns.

Third on the album is “Be Still,” written by Jonathan Butler and the legendary George Duke. The song showcases the talents of Marcus Miller who is also featured on “Let There Be Light” alongside Elan Trotman on sax.

Living My Dream continues with a diverse collection of instrumental and vocal tunes penned by Butler (with the exception of “Song for You” written by Dennis Dodd, Jr.). It includes a great cast of musicians such as Katisse Buckingham, Jodie Butler, Aaron Gutierrez, Antonio Sol, Gordon Campbell, Time Carmon, Dennis Dodd Jr., George Duke, Mike Eita, Agape Jerry, Dan Lutz, Marcus Miller, Rashawn Ross, Garrett Smith, Brigg Sterns, Elan Trotman, Jay Williams, Dave Wood, and Ramon Yslas.

More about the artist:

Jonathan Butler was born and raised in South Africa as the youngest of 12 children. He began playing the guitar at age seven and began touring not long after. As a teen he earned his first record deal before moving to the UK and then the US. He’s earned Grammy nominations and has had the opportunity to tour with artists such as Kirk Whalum and Dave Koz.

Get Living My Dream on Amazon

Title: Evolve
Artist: Jackiem Joyner
Date: April 29, 2014
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Artistry Music/Mack Avenue


01 African Dream
02 Living My Dream
03 Be Still
04 Let There Be Light
05 Heart and Soul
06 Song for You
07 Catembe
08 Night to Remember
09 All About Love
10 Sweet Serenade
11 A Prayer

Get Living My Dream on Amazon

[template id=”182″]

Published by Shannon Kennedy

Shannon Kennedy is a vocalist and saxophonist living in Southern California. She is author of "The Album Checklist" and the founder of Teen Jazz. She has been contributing articles to music magaizines and websites since 2004.