On June 23, 2015, drummer Jamison Ross celebrated the release of his debut album, Jamison. The album, released on Concord Jazz, not only features the young artists talents as a drummer and composer, but as a vocalist as well.

The album is the perfect blend of jazz, blues, and soul and Jamison’s voice has a subtle power to it that captivates the listener, making this debut a very enjoyable listen.

Jamison is a combination of original music with covers such as Muddy Waters’ “Deep Down in Florida”, refreshed as a new orleans-style tune driven by grungy guitar over a blues form. “Sack Full of Dreams” from Louis Savary and Eddie Harris’ and Les McCann’s “Set Us Free”, and Carmen Lundy’s “These Things You Are to Me” round up the covers on the project, making the album a pleasant blend of classics and new material.

Jamison Ross is accompanied by his college mates on the project including guitarist Rick Lollar, bassist Corcoran Holt, saxophonist Dayve Stewart, pianist Chris Pattishall, organist Cory Irvin, and trumpet player Alphonso Horne III. Jonathan Batiste also performs piano on four of the tracks.


Jamison Ross was the winner the 2012 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Award for drums in 2012.

Get Jamison on Amazon.

Title: Jamison
Artist: Jamison Ross
Date: June 23, 2015
Genre: Jazz,
Label: Concord Jazz


01 Deep Down in Florida
02 Martha’s Prize – Instrumental
03 Emotions
04 Sack Full of Dreams
05 Set Us Free – Instrumental
06 Sweet Surrender (The Hook) – Interlude
07 My One and Only Love
08 These Things You Are to Me
09 Jazz (Aubrielle Ross) – Interlude
10 Epiphany
11 Bye Bye Blues – Part I
12 Bye Bye Blues – Part II

Get Jamison on Amazon.

Published by Shannon Kennedy

Shannon Kennedy is a vocalist and saxophonist living in Southern California. She is author of "The Album Checklist" and the founder of Teen Jazz. She has been contributing articles to music magaizines and websites since 2004.